USA Famous namesake / Names / Middle name / Name-patronymic / Horoscopes / Tests / Omens / Names - home

United States of America - description of the country

United States of America

United States of America (Соединенные Штаты Америки), United States — nation[ru] in North America. About 9363.2 thousand Km2. The population of 281.4 million. People (2000). The urban population is 75.2% (1990). The racial makeup (1991,%): 83.4 white, blacks 12.4, other (immigrants from Asia and Oceania, the American Indians, Eskimos, Aleuts) 4.1. The official language - English. Believers mostly Protestant (56%) and Catholics (25%).

United States - the federation of 50 states (the 48 contiguous, and Alaska and Hawaii) and federal (capital) the District of Columbia. Capital - Washington. Head of state and government - the president, elected for 4 years. Legislature - Congress (House and Senate).

About half of the main area (neighboring states) - mountain ranges, plains and plateaus of the Cordilleras; eastern outskirts of the belt of the Cordillera mountain ranges form the Rocky Mountains higher than 4,000 meters, the West - Coast Mountains, stretches along the Pacific coast. In the east of the country - Appalachian Mountains (altitude up to 2037 m). Between the Cordilleras and the Appalachians - vast inland plains (Central, Great). Along the coasts of the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico - Atlantic region and Gulf Coastal Plain.

The highest point in the country - Mount McKinley (6193 m) in Alaska. Deposits of coal, oil, natural gas, ferrous and non-ferrous metals, uranium mining and chemical raw materials. The climate is mostly temperate and subtropical continental. The average January temperature of -25° C in Alaska to 20° C on the peninsula of Florida, July 14-22° C on the west coast, 16-26° C - on the east. Rainfall of 100 mm on the inland plateaus and plateaus up to 4000 mm per year in the coastal strip.

The main rivers of the United States - Mississippi tributaries Missouri and Ohio, Columbia, Colorado, Yukon. In the north-east - the Great Lakes system. Alaska - tundra and sparse forests, in the north-east - coniferous and mixed, in the south - subtropical broadleaf and mixed. On the domestic plateau Cordillera - semi-desert.

The territory of present-day United States of America was inhabited by ancient Indians (Alaska - Eskimo). In the 16th century, the beginning of European colonization of North America, in which the indigenous population displacement and exterminated; to work on the plantations of slaves imported from Africa. During the War of Independence in North America 1775-1783, respectively, it was independent states - the United States (1776).

In 1787, the constitution was adopted. The first US president, George Washington became. In 1803, the United States bought from France, Louisiana, in 1819 Spain was forced to cede it to Florida in 1840-1850-ies captured more than half of the territory of Mexico, in 1867, bought Alaska from Russia and the Aleutian Islands. In 1820-1850-ies were formed Democratic and Republican parties.

The struggle between the North and South resulted in the American Civil War of 1861-1865. The victory of the North in the war led to the destruction of slavery and paved the way for the rapid development of capitalism. In 1881 he founded the American Federation of Labor, in 1905 - the trade union "Industrial Workers of the World." As a result, the United States launched the Spanish-American War of 1898 the United States took over the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Guam, actually turned Cuba into a colony. Since the beginning of the 20th century the United States has repeatedly carried out armed incursions into the territory of the Latin American countries. In 1917-1918, the United States participated in the side of the Allies in World War I[ru], after which he took the leading position among the nations of the world.

The global economic crisis of 1929-1933 led to a sharp drop in production and a rise in unemployment (in 1932 to 17 million. People); Franklin Roosevelt's government has sought to overcome the crisis with the help of "New Deal". In December 1941, after the Japanese attack on the American base in the Pacific, the United States entered World War II[ru]; together with the Soviet Union and Great Britain were the main participants in the anti-Hitler coalition.

In 1960 the administration of President John F. Kennedy launched a program (policy "New Frontier") technology advances, education and poverty reduction. In the second half of the 1960s it carried out a program of social and economic measures to create a "Great Society" (funding to increase employment, care for the elderly, pension benefits, public primary and secondary schools, universities, medical centers and others.). Despite the adoption in 1965, the Voting Rights Act of African Americans in the years deteriorated sharply racial problems. The city hosts a wide Negro civil rights movement. Since 1965, the United States took over the direct management of the war in Vietnam (Paris Agreement ending the war was signed in 1973).

In the context of the "cold war" Soviet-American relations were complicated and tense. The United States in the early 1970s, made a number of steps towards dйtente, normalization and development of relations with the countries of Eastern Europe. He signed a number of Soviet-American agreements aimed at preventing the danger of nuclear war, the limitation of strategic arms. From 1985 to define a new stage in Soviet-American relations. The Soviet-American summit in late 1980 - early 1990's led to the signing of a number of agreements on the reduction of strategic nuclear and conventional weapons, as well as the conclusion of a trade agreement. Since the mid-1990s. the country entered a period of economic boom caused by the advancing compared with other countries in the development of high technologies. After the collapse of the socialist system of the United States (1991) began to put forward the concept of a unipolar world with a sole leader - the United States.

After the September 11, 2001, suicide bombers in occupied them passenger aircraft attacked World Trade Center in New York and the Pentagon in Washington, President George W. Bush called for the international community to combat international terrorism and led coalition launched a military operation "Retribution "in Afghanistan to destroy the terrorist bases.

United States - a highly developed industrial-agrarian country. Share in GDP in 1993 was agriculture 2%, industry 19%, transportation, communications and utilities 9%. Leading industries in the United States: mechanical engineering, chemical, oil refining, food-processing, light. Particularly rapidly growing production of aviation and aerospace equipment, electronic equipment, instruments, new construction materials.

In 1991 the United States produced 8.8 mln. Cars[ru] 88.3 million. Tons of steel, 22 million. Tons of plastics and synthetic resins. The smelting of primary non-ferrous metals (1991, thous. Tonnes): 1631 Copper, aluminum 4394, zinc 518, 466. Production of lead (1995): oil 2.3 billion. Barrels, coal 937 million. Mt. ie, natural gas 559.2 billion. m3; a significant portion of demand for mineral raw materials and fuel is covered by imports.

Electricity production in the US (1995) 3345 Bln. KW. h, t. h. (%) at TPP - 68, HPP - 9,8, NPP - 21.7. The highly mechanized agriculture bulk of production comes from large private farms of industrial type. The structure of agricultural land (excluding Alaska, according to data for 1992) on arable land accounts for 30%, 28% woods, pastures and other 42%. The share of irrigated land by 12%. About 47% of commercial agricultural production crop yields, more than 53% - livestock.

US occupies one of the leading places in the world for the production of corn and soybeans (main forage crops), wheat, cotton, tobacco, meat and milk. Cultivation of forage grasses, fruit, vegetables. Collecting (1992, mln. Tonnes): 67 Wheat, corn 190, 59 soybeans, raw cotton 3.9. Livestock (1997, mln.): 101,5 cattle, pigs 56,2, sheep 7.9. Development of poultry, in particular broiler production (6.1 bn. Units in 1991). The fish catch in 1994 5.9 mln. MT. m.

The length of railways in 1997 was 222 thousand. Km of roads 6.3 million. Km (including the city). Development of internal waterways, especially in the Mississippi and Ohio rivers, Great Lakes, coastal channel. The tonnage of merchant marine 16.8 million. Gross registered tonnes (1995).

The major US ports: Sea - New York, New Orleans, Houston, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Boston, Newport News, Norfolk; lake - Chicago, Duluth, Buffalo, Cleveland, Detroit. Developed pipeline transportation. Export: industrial machinery, aircraft, automobiles[ru], electronic equipment, military equipment, chemicals, coal, corn, soybeans. The main foreign trade partners: Canada, Japan, Mexico, the countries of Western Europe. Foreign tourism (45.4 million. Per year). Currency - US dollar. The average salary of men 36.5 thousand. Dollars per year, women - 26.3 thousand. Dollars (2001) (Encyclopedia of Cyril and Methodius)

Independence Day (Independence Day)

Independence Day is considered the day of birth of the United States as a free and independent country. Most Americans simply call it a holiday for his date - Fourth of July (Fourth of July).

July 4, 1776, Congress approved the Declaration of Independence (Declaration of Independence), which was signed by the president of the Second Continental Congress, John Hancock (John Hancock) and secretary of the Continental Congress Charles Thomson (Charles Thomson). While the inhabitants of the 13 British colonies that were located along the eastern coast of the United States of today's territory, waged war with the English king and Parliament, because they believed that those treated unfairly. The war began in 1775.

During hostilities the colonists realized that fighting not just for better treatment, and for freedom from British rule. This was clearly stated in the Declaration of Independence, which was signed by the leaders of the colonies. For the first time in an official document the colonies were called the United States of America.

Currently, the Fourth of July national holiday filled with fireworks, picnics and other outdoor activities, as well as concerts and patriotic speeches, festivals and historical reconstructions.

To join the celebration of the friendly and neighboring regions of Canada, as well as Denmark, Norway, Sweden, England, Guatemala, and the Philippines.

See also: 100 Most Common U.S. Surnames[ru].

Like this? Recommend to friends! Get +1 for Karma :)
+

Subscribe to News
or on Twitter:

Free subscription to News


Names

Посмотрите акции стабильной компанииSkyWay (есть бесплатный звонок)
Подписаться
1 июня родились[en]: Михаил Иванович Глинка, Мэрилин Монро, Евгения Павловна Симонова
Скончались[en]: Евгений Семенович Матвеев, Зоя Василькова, Андрей Вознесенский

США Главная / Оглавление / Ваши знаменитые тезки / Имена / Отчества / Имя-отчество / Гороскопы / Тесты / События истории

США - Соединенные Штаты Америки

США

Соединенные Штаты Америки (United States of America), США — государство[en] в Северной Америке. Около 9363,2 тыс. км2. Население 281,4 млн. человек (2000). Городское население 75,2% (1990). Расовый состав (1991, %): белые 83,4, афроамериканцы 12,4, прочие (выходцы из стран Азии и Океании, американские индейцы, эскимосы, алеуты) 4,1. Официальный язык — английский. Верующие главным образом протестанты (56%) и католики (25%).

США — федерация в составе 50 штатов (48 смежных, а также Аляска и Гавайи) и федерального (столичного) округа Колумбия. Столица — Вашингтон. Глава государства и правительства — президент, избираемый на 4 года. Законодательный орган — конгресс (Палата представителей и Сенат).

Около половины основной территории (смежных штатов) — горные хребты, плоскогорья и плато Кордильер; восточную окраину пояса Кордильер образуют хребты Скалистых гор высотой более 4000 метров, западную — Береговые хребты, протягивающиеся вдоль Тихоокеанского побережья. На востоке страны — Аппалачские горы (высота до 2037 м). Между Кордильерами и Аппалачами — обширные внутренние равнины (Центральные, Великие). Вдоль побережий Атлантического океана и его Мексиканского залива — Приатлантическая и Примексиканская низменности.

Наивысшая точка страны — гора Мак-Кинли (6193 м) на Аляске. Месторождения угля, нефти, природного газа, руд черных и цветных металлов, урана, горнохимического сырья. Климат большей частью умеренный и субтропический континентальный. Средние температуры января от -25 °С на Аляске до 20 °С на полуострове Флорида, июля 14-22 °С на западном побережье, 16-26 °С — на восточном. Осадков от 100 мм на внутренних плоскогорьях и плато до 4000 мм в год в приморской полосе.

Главные реки США — Миссисипи с притоками Миссури и Огайо, Колумбия, Колорадо, Юкон. На северо-востоке — система Великих озер. На Аляске — тундра и редкостойные леса, на северо-востоке — хвойные и смешанные, на юге — широколиственные и субтропические смешанные. На внутреннем плато Кордильер — полупустыни.

Территорию современных Соединенных Штатов Америки с древности населяли индейцы (Аляску — эскимосы). В 16 веке началась европейская колонизация Северной Америки, в ходе которой коренное население вытеснялось и истреблялось; для работы на плантациях ввозились рабы из Африки. В ходе Войны за независимость в Северной Америке 1775-1783 годах, было образовано независимое государство — США (1776).

В 1787 году была принята конституция. Первым президентом США стал Джордж Вашингтон. В 1803 году США купили у Франции Луизиану, в 1819 вынудили Испанию уступить им Флориду, в 1840-1850-х годах захватили свыше половины территории Мексики, в 1867 купили у России Аляску и Алеутские острова. В 1820-1850-х годах оформились Демократическая и Республиканская партии.

Борьба между Севером и Югом вылилась в Гражданскую войну в США 1861-1865 годов. Победа Севера в войне привела к уничтожению рабства и расчистила путь для быстрого развития капитализма. В 1881 основана Американская Федерация труда, в 1905 — профсоюзная организация «Индустриальные рабочие мира». В результате развязанной США испано-американской войны 1898 США захватили Филиппины, Пуэрто-Рико, Гуам, превратили Кубу фактически в свою колонию. С начала 20 века США неоднократно осуществляли вооруженные вторжения на территории латиноамериканских стран. В 1917-1918 годах США участвовали на стороне Антанты в Первой мировой войне (First World War), после окончания которой заняли ведущее положение среди держав мира.

Мировой экономический кризис 1929-1933 годов привел к резкому падению производства и росту безработицы (в 1932 до 17 млн. человек); правительство Франклина Рузвельта стремилось преодолеть последствия кризиса с помощью «Нового курса». В декабре 1941 года, после нападения Японии на американские базы в Тихом океане, США вступили во Вторую мировую войну[en]; вместе с СССР и Великобританией были главными участниками анти-гитлеровской коалиции.

В 1960-е годы администрация президента Джона Кеннеди начала проведение программы (политика «новых рубежей») развития технического прогресса, образования, а также борьбы с бедностью. Во второй половине 1960-х годов осуществлялась программа социально-экономических мероприятий по созданию «великого общества» (финансирование увеличения занятости, помощи престарелым, пенсионных пособий, общественных начальных и средних школ, высших учебных заведений, лечебных центров и др.). Несмотря на принятый в 1965 закон об избирательных правах афроамериканцев, в эти годы резко обострились расовые проблемы. В городах проходило широкое негритянское движение за гражданские права. С 1965 года США взяли на себя непосредственное ведение войны во Вьетнаме (Парижское соглашение о прекращении войны было подписано в 1973 году).

В условиях «холодной войны» советско-американские отношения носили сложный и напряженный характер. США в начале 1970-х годов пошли на ряд шагов в направлении разрядки международной напряженности, нормализации и развития отношений со странами Восточной Европы. Был подписан ряд советско-американских соглашений, направленных на предотвращение опасности ядерной войны, ограничение стратегических вооружений. С 1985 определился новый этап в советско-американских отношениях. Советско-американские встречи на высшем уровне в конце 1980-х — начале 1990 годов привели к подписанию ряда договоров о сокращении ядерного стратегического и обычного вооружения, а также заключению торгового соглашения. С середины 1990-х годов страна вступила в полосу экономического подъема, вызванного опережающим по сравнению с другими странами развитием высоких технологий. После распада социалистической системы США (1991) стали выдвигать концепцию однополярного мира с единственным лидером — США.

После того как 11 сентября 2001 террористы-смертники на захваченных ими пассажирских самолетах атаковали Международный торговый центр в Нью-Йорке и здание Пентагона в Вашингтоне президент Джордж Буш-младший призвал к мировое сообщество к борьбе с международным терроризмом и возглавил коалицию, начавшую военную операцию «Возмездие» в Афганистане по уничтожению баз террористов.

Соединенные Штаты Америки — высокоразвитая индустриально-аграрная страна. Доля в ВНП в 1993 году составляло: сельское хозяйство 2%, промышленность 19%, транспорт, связь и коммунальное хозяйство 9%. Ведущие отрасли промышленности в США: машиностроение, химическая, нефтеперерабатывающая, пищевкусовая, легкая. Особенно быстро развивается производство авиационной и ракетно-космической техники, электронного оборудования, приборов, новых конструкционных материалов.

В 1991 США произвели 8,8 млн. автомобилей[en], 88,3 млн. тонн стали, 22 млн. тонн пластмасс и синтетических смол. Выплавка первичных цветных металлов (1991, тыс. т): меди 1631, алюминия 4394, цинка 518, свинца 466. Добыча (1995): нефть 2,3 млрд. баррелей, каменный уголь 937 млн. метрич. т, природный газ 559,2 млрд. м3; значительная часть потребностей в минеральном сырье и топливе покрывается за счет импорта.

Производство электроэнергии в США (1995) 3345 млрд. кВт. ч, в т. ч. (%) на ТЭС — 68, ГЭС — 9,8, АЭС — 21,7. В высокомеханизированном сельском хозяйстве основную часть продукции дают крупные частные фермы индустриального типа. В структуре сельскохозяйственных угодий (без Аляски, по данным на 1992 год) на обрабатываемые земли приходится 30%, леса 28%, пастбищ и прочего 42%. Доля орошаемых земель 12%. Около 47% товарной продукции сельского хозяйства дает растениеводство, свыше 53% — животноводство.

США занимают одно из ведущих мест в мире по производству кукурузы и сои (основные фуражные культуры), пшеницы, хлопка, табака, мяса и молока. Выращивание кормовых трав, плодоводство, овощеводство. Сбор (1992, млн. т): пшеница 67, кукуруза 190, соевые бобы 59, хлопок-сырец 3,9. Поголовье (1997, млн.): крупный рогатый скот 101,5, свиньи 56,2, овцы 7,9. Развито птицеводство, в частности производство бройлеров (6,1 млрд. штук в 1991). Улов рыбы в 1994 5,9 млн. метрич. т.

Длина железных дорог на 1997 год составляло 222 тыс. км, автодорог 6,3 млн. км (включая городские). Развиты внутренние водные пути, особенно по рекам Миссисипи и Огайо, Великим озерам, Береговому каналу. Тоннаж морского торгового флота 16,8 млн. брутто-регистровых тонн (1995).

Важнейшие порты США: морские — Нью-Йорк, Новый Орлеан, Хьюстон, Филадельфия, Балтимор, Бостон, Ньюпорт-Ньюс, Норфолк; озерные — Чикаго, Дулут, Буффало, Кливленд, Детройт. Развит трубопроводный транспорт. Экспорт: промышленное оборудование, самолеты, автомобили[en], электронное оборудование, военная техника, химикаты, каменный уголь, кукуруза, соевые бобы. Основные внешнеторговые партнеры: Канада, Япония, Мексика, страны Западной Европы. Иностранный туризм (45,4 млн. человек в год). Денежная единица — доллар США. Средняя заработная плата мужчин 36,5 тыс. долларов в год, женщин — 26,3 тыс. долларов (2001) (Энциклопедия Кирилл и Мефодий)

Смотрите так же: 100 самых распространённых фамилий США[en].

Понравилась статья? Поделитесь с друзьями! Получите +1 к Карме :)
И чуть ниже оставьте комментарий.

Подпишитесь на новости

rss to-name.ru  email to-name.ru  twitter to-name.ru

Смотрите ещё с этого сайта:

Найти ещё что-нибудь интересное:

Значение имени

Есть что сказать, дополнить или заметили ошибку? Поделитесь!
Спам, оскорбления, сквернословие, SEO-ссылки, реклама, неуважительное обращение, и т.п. запрещены. Нарушители банятся.

Не быть придирой - чтобы других не сердить и самим не позориться. Кто сам ничего не умеет и не может сделать, тот первым лезет критиковать и делает это бесцеремонно. Ну, небезупречный сайт, местами белыми нитками шит, кое-где ссылки сдохли - пусть даже так. Никто не запрещает сказать об этом... но где же элементарная деликатность? И чем ничтожнее критикан, тем он наглее (Бальтасар Грасианов, виртуальный философ и кибер-маньерист, кавалер Ордена Бинокля)